November 2018 home page

support us

DMF Announces New Officers
Bob Gans, Past President of the Del Mar Foundation

The Del Mar Foundation recently elected a new slate of officers to lead the organization for 2018-19. Sandra Hoyle was elected President, replacing Bob Gans, who will remain on the Board as Past President. Sandra is familiar to Foundation supporters, having served as Vice President, Secretary, Special Events Chair, and Young Del Mar Chair. Sandra is the architect of the Annual Picnic at Powerhouse Park, and was also principally responsible for the community party at the Barn at the Beach during last year’s Breeders’ Cup celebration. When not volunteering for the Foundation, Sandra is engaged in numerous other community organizations, including National Charity League and the Del Mar Hills PTA. She spends her spare time with her husband, Randy, raising five daughters, ranging in age from 5 to 17.

Joining Sandra as Secretary is long-time Board member Alice Brown. Alice is a San Diego native who has been a Del Mar resident since 1978, and whose three children all attended Del Mar public schools. Alice has served in multiple roles volunteering for the Foundation, which includes serving on the Grants, Cultural Arts and Development committees. She is an active community volunteer, having served two terms on the San Dieguito Lagoon Committee, and also as President of the Del Mar Rose Society. Rounding out the officer slate is Ira Sharp, who will continue to serve as Treasurer of the Foundation, as well as Chair of the Grants Committee. Ira and his wife, Rose Ann, are long-time Del Mar residents and extremely involved in multiple community organizations. Under Ira’s leadership, the Foundation’s grants budget has increased dramatically, putting donor dollars to work in our community.

The remaining membership of the Foundation Board includes Cultural Arts Chair Donna Shaw, Communications Chair Bill Morris, Summer Twilight Concerts Chair T. Pat Stubbs, Young Del Mar Co-Chairs Amanda Allen and Karla Deerinck, and Foundation mainstays Sharon Bockoff, Michael Halpern and Jill Wheeler, who perform a variety of functions for the organization. Jan Barnes remains the Foundation’s indispensable Administrative Director.

If you are interested in getting more involved, please send us an email at info@delmarfoundation.org. And, of course, continue to check our website and like us on Facebook (@delmarfoundation) for updates.


© 2007-2018 Del Mar Community Alliance, Inc.  All rights reserved.