October 2011 home page

New Supervisor. But who?
Dave Druker | 10th Street


The County Board of Supervisors has adopted a new map for supervisorial districts and Pam Slater-Price has decided to retire. Pam’s retirement is not related necessarily to the new district as she could have easily won re-election because District 3 is evenly split between Republicans, Democrats and Independents. Del Mar continues to be part of District 3 along with Solana Beach, Encinitas, Carmel Valley, UTC, Escondido, Tierrasanta, and Fairbanks Ranch. La Jolla has been moved to District 4 currently represented by Ron Roberts. District 1 currently represented by Greg Cox will now be a strong ethnic minority district. The boundaries for District 5 represented by Bill Horn and District 2 represented by Diane Jacobs remain essentially the same.

By removing La Jolla from District 3, the supervisors have made it more difficult for a moderate with a strong base of support to challenge the Republican supported candidate in District 3 – Steve Danon. Steve is the chief of staff for Congressman Brian Bilbray. The supervisors have also diluted the power of a person from La Jolla to challenge Ron Roberts if he seeks reelection in 2014.

It will be interesting to watch who will run against Steve Danon. Names being mentioned are Crystal Crawford and Lesa Heebner.


© 2007-2015 Del Mar Community Alliance, Inc.  All rights reserved.