July 2011 home page

  Mapping Moves 2012
Dave Druker | 10th Street


The preliminary maps for the new Assembly, State Senate and Congressional Districts were published on Friday, June 10. The final versions must be set by August 15, 2010. A non-partisan commission has been holding hearings across the state to determine the boundaries.

The commission is supposed to base districts upon the following criteria:

• Districts must be of equal population to comply with the US Constitution.

• Districts must comply with the Voting Rights Act to ensure that minorities have an equal opportunity to elect representatives of their choice.

• Districts must be contiguous so that all parts of the district are connected to each other.

• Districts must respect the boundaries of cities, counties, neighborhoods and communities of interest, and minimize their division, to the extent possible.

• Districts should be geographically compact, that is, have a fairly regular shape.

Where practicable each Senate District should be comprised of two complete and adjacent Assembly Districts and Board of Equalization districts shall be composed of 10 complete and adjacent State Senate Districts.

Districts shall not be drawn to favor or discriminate against an incumbent, candidate, or political party.

Based upon the preliminary maps Del Mar is now included in an Assembly district that stretches from Solana Beach and Rancho Santa Fe through La Jolla (along the coast) to San Diego south of Balboa and east to I-15 and then south through downtown San Diego to Coronado. This district is currently mostly represented by Toni Atkins – a former San Diego City Councilmember. This district probably has a larger number of registered Democrats than Republicans. Former Del Mar Councilmember Crystal Crawford who had announced that she would be running for the California Assembly, states that she will not run against Toni Atkins but will wait and see what the final map looks like. The current district of Martin Garrick now includes Encinitas, Carlsbad, Oceanside and Vista – a solidly Republican district. In 2012 this district will have an open seat as Martin Garrick has “termed out.”

Our State Senate district encompasses the Assembly district and also includes National City, Chula Vista and Imperial Beach. This district includes areas represented by Christine Kehoe and Juan Vargas. In 2012, Kehoe will be “termed out” and Vargas may run for Congress thereby leaving our State Senate district open for new challengers. The district has a much larger number of registered Democrats than Republicans.

For Congress the preliminary map has Del Mar in a district that runs from the Orange County border through most of Fallbrook, all of Oceanside, Vista, Carlsbad, Encinitas, Rancho Santa Fe (almost east to Escondido), Solana Beach through Torrey Pines Mesa and UCSD and the commercial section of UTC. Some of this district is represented by Darrell Issa and he will seek reelection in this district. The district has a much larger number of registered Republicans than Democrats.

Formerly, Del Mar was in the 50th District represented by Brian Bilbray. The district encompassed Carlsbad, San Marcos, Encinitas, Solana Beach, Rancho Santa Fe, Carmel Valley, coastal La Jolla and much of the Clairmont area. The map shows the 50th district moving south to include Carmel Valley, Rancho Penasquitos, Poway, the city of San Diego through Kearney Mesa, Serra Mesa, Linda Vista, La Jolla, Pacific Beach, downtown San Diego and Coronado. The district is evenly divided between registered Republicans and Democrats. Brian Bilbray has recently moved to Clairemont and will seek reelection in this new district.

To look at the preliminary maps in more detail visit the website of the California Redistricting commission at www.wedrawthelines.ca.gov/maps-first-drafts.html


© 2007-2015 Del Mar Community Alliance, Inc.  All rights reserved.